Assembly Election 2022 Live Updates: “Party Of Bootlickers”, Says Samajwadi Party MLA As He Joins BJP


Assembly Election: Polls in all 5 states will be held amid a massive surge in Covid cases (File)

New Delhi:

The high-profile exits of two ministers and four MLAs from the Yogi Adityanath government in Uttar Pradesh, less than 30 days before an Assembly election, were followed a day later by three lawmakers – two from the Samajwadi Party and one from the Congress – moving the other way.

Swami Prasad Maurya, whose resignation from Yogi Adityanath’s cabinet has set off a flurry of exits, Wednesday said he “hasn’t quit the BJP or joined the Samajwadi Party” yet.

“I have only quit as a minister. I will quit the BJP soon. For now, I am not joining the Samajwadi Party,” Swami Prasad Maurya told NDTV, teasing a big reveal on Friday.

“I have rejected the BJP…there is no question of going back,” he qualified in the same breath.

Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Manipur, Punjab, and Uttarakhand will vote over seven phases starting February 10, with counting of votes scheduled for March 10.

Here are the Live updates on Assembly Election 2022:

Source link